A Story Of Letting Go, A Car, Some Crying, and Clarity For 2022

Gary Miller
3 min readJan 4, 2022

I donated my old car to a charity yesterday.

My 2005 Galant GTS.

Truthfully I’m not a car guy but when I bought that car it was a big deal. All leather, V6, heated seats… I felt next level cool.

That was 17 years ago.

It was a great fit then but a horrible fit now.

As the tow truck driver rolled it onto the flatbed my wife got emotional. That of course made me emotional.

We were thinking about all the “firsts” that the car saw.

Our first date.

Our first trip to the hospital when we found out she was pregnant with our first daughter.

Our first trip to our first home together.

Great memories but Crystal, as she often does, brought a much-needed dose of perspective as we were strolling down memory lane.

“This is good that you’re donating it. It will be a great fit for someone. Or at least the parts will be. It’s not a fit for you or us anymore. A lot has changed.”

It got me thinking about heading into 2022. I can’t help but wonder what things we may need to “donate” in our lives because they just don’t fit anymore?

--

--

Gary Miller

Husband, father, insurance guy. Writing about life and leadership